“Do you think all relationships come with a past?” She asked me

“I think so, you have lived 19 years of your life and I am sure you must have a past. But see we are here, not worried at what had happened before. But enjoying the moment”

I had proposed her yesterday. She wanted to have a talk with me. She wanted to make sure, I know about her well, so as to avoid any future misunderstandings.

I really admired that. She never held back anything. Right from the day, when she met Bala, her Ex in a marriage and what had happened between them that led to break up she said me everything. It was over 2 years ago. She also said, Bala was never able to come out of that and still lives with her memories, though she had moved on.

It didn’t seem to be an issue to me. I had a lot of such stories to put behind my back and move on. But I was not sure, whether I was ready for another relationship before I met her. But I instantly felt my knees weak, when I met her. I could not stop myself from falling for her. And so it started.

It was the wonderful two years in my life. She was such a beautiful lady. She had a beautiful heart, never-ending affection for me and such a lovely lady. She even know what my eyebrows talk. We seldom fought. There was no chance of misunderstanding. When she was with me it was only smiles, smiles and more smiles.

The tower park in Anna Nagar is our favorite spot to spend evenings. We would find a calm bench and talk about our dreams of future and the fond memories of our childhood. Soup is her favorite, when we sat there. Sometimes Ice creams.

It was one such day, she asked for an ice cream, and I went to the cart to buy one for her. When I came back she was on phone, sobbing.

I didn’t know whether to talk or not. Because her mother is an emotional lady back in her home town. She would cry now and then wanting t o meet her daughter. But this was different. The phone was cut for few minutes.

“Its Bala! He is near my house in native. He wants to ask my dad to marry me” She was still sobbing.

I didn’t understand. I hoped he would have moved on with his life. But it was clear he was not. After an hour for coaxing and pleading, he agreed not to go to her house, but he wanted to meet her in Chennai.

I thought I would take care. And it was a Wednesday morning; I received a call from her. Bala was in front of her hostel. He was drunk and wanted to meet her. I went there with my friend, and asked him to come with me. She never showed her face. He was mightily angry with me and I received few unexpected slaps. I had no clue what to do. I thought we were going to talk this over.

We took him to my friend’s room. He was clearly drunk. I always feared the guys who had drunk. They act so weird. Being a teetotaler myself, it was hard to manage him. I left to work.

I called my friend back in break.

“How is Bala?”

“He is still drinking. And talking lot of nonsense. Good that you are not here” my friend said.

“That doesn’t matter. If he asks anything please buy it for him. Let him talk his heart out. I will come and clean any mess he makes”

“Shut up, you stupid, it’s not about cleaning the mess in room. He is in so much pain machan. I can handle him”

I know my friend is a patient listener. He listened to everything Bala said. And never said a word about that to me. He made him ready for his job after 2 days. And I was there to send him off to Bangalore.

“Prasanna! I just want to tell you something”

“Please”

“I am sorry, I hit you that day. I was so angry and frustrated. But she is my life. Make her happy all the time. If I come to know she shed a single tear because of you, I will come back.”

“I will take care; you please take care of yourself. Get married. Have kids”

He gave me a dry smile. “Do you think such things would happen in my life? I have no hopes. Anyway all the best” He left Chennai and her I thought.

She was not ready to meet me, or talk for 2 weeks. Then there was an interview from an MNC. Though she had not called me I was there to support her. She did well and got selected. I was so happy and sad at the same time because she had to leave the city and the training is at a different city.

Three months of training passed and I was able to feel difference in the way she talked. There were fights, every night. I thought those fights were because of the distance and paid her visit in that city. She was so conscious of my evening train than the moment. Later I came to know she is close with one of her batch mates. She had herself told me about him. He was helping her study and accompanying in lot of activities, which she dared not do alone. So I was nowhere near suspecting her.

But it came after 3 months, She called me one evening and said bluntly “Let’s breakup Prasanna”

I was at my wit’s end. I did not know what to do. I visited her in her place only to be chased away like a dog. She never wanted to see me. I used to finish work in Chennai on Saturdays and catch the night bus to the city she lived and watch her shoo me out like a street dog. The third time my friend came along with me and we saw a bunch of IT guys standing at her gate.

“Don’t mess with her or I will break your face. She is our friend’s girlfriend.” One of the softest voices I have ever heard in my life threatened me.

I stood there for a second, looked at my friend, who gave me a knowing smile.  We walked back not talking anything.

Even if your girlfriend’s ex wants her back, it’s up to her to back or not. The role that you play in the middle is not so pleasant for you. And please remember, she will be in the same place and you may be in the opposite end facing the problem, her Ex faces now.

This post is written for the Soch lo contest conducted by Indiblogger.

