Tags

, , , , , ,

A man in the neighborhood died today afternoon. He was well today morning when I saw him buying newspaper and milk packets in the morning. Suddenly he fainted and on the way to the hospital he died. The cremation center need doctor’s certificate to continue the further last rights. That too they work till 6 PM only.

The male members of the family rushed to Government hospital to get a certificate as most of the doctors in the locality were not available. Since it is Sunday, the relatives who went to GH also didn’t return soon. The whole street knew that the old man had died and his body was brought in auto. But none of them went in to check.

There is something about this funeral houses. There will be heavy silence hanging above our head. We may want to talk a lot of things but we cannot. That is one place where emotions ride so high than the words. Since I work in night shift most of the people in the street don’t know me. I stepped into the house to see the old man laid in the hall with a lamp lit near his head. There was no one except his wife and daughter. There was no one even who came in to ask what happened.

I offered to help them in anyway I can. I don’t know what are the things to be done, who are the people to be called and all. But I felt like doing something. They said about the male members going to the GH. I stood there for few minutes, gave our landline and my mobile number and asked them to call me if they need any help.

It made me think of how I dont know anything about the things to be taken care of in a funeral house. Whenever there is a death in my native, they used to tie a palm leaf in nearby electric post or tree. People will be able to see that some one has expired there. Whether they know the family or not, the neighbors will start coming in. People will start cry with the family. Somebody would have taken the count of people in the house and would have started cooking for the entire group.

There was always these somebodies ready to help. But what happened now? I dont know whether it is a city phenomenon. But how can you enjoy a comedy channel when a neighbor expired next door? I cant understand it at all. After all, this is the time where we should be helping the neighbors and sharing their feelings.

Felt really bad. We did our bit to the old man who passed away for the better world. And as always this reminded me of taking the numbers of the essential services in such situations.

The man would have never thought, he will be lonely in this last journey too..

